Bolder Band Headband Review


I’ve been reading a lot about Bolder Band’s lately.  Every time something gets a lot of attention I wonder.  Is it a great product or great marketing???  When I can, I try to grab one to see for myself.

Early morning pre-race puffy eyes and my new Bolder Band

Early morning pre-race puffy eyes and my new Bolder Band

Bolder Band‘s founder and creator, Amy Crouse, says “I am a cross fitting/running mom of three amazing kids and married to a stud of a man! I really enjoy working out but could never seem to find the right thing to hold my hair back.  Every name-brand elastic head band would pop off my head in the middle of my workouts. I got fed up with the interruption of losing my headband every third burpee and decided there had to be a better alternative.”  So she made her own.  That, I love.

Instructions and my Bolder Band.  Pink with sparkle.  Of course

Instructions and my Bolder Band. Pink with sparkle. Of course

I went on the Facebook site as well as the web page.  I read up, I sized myself, I chose the one I’d get.  $15 a pop isn’t too bad if it works well.  My concern was growing my hair out and having all the little pieces that fall out, bounce on my face, stick to me and pretty much drive me crazy.  Looking good is always a bonus, but for this I was being utilitarian.  I wanted my puny little ponytail to stay as put together as possible but by no means was I planning on going slowly.  I wanted to put the Band through the rigors of my life.

I really liked all the information and suggestions the Bolder Band comes with

I really liked all the information and suggestions the Bolder Band comes with

I chose a race day to try it out.  I was in a relay and the plan was to go fast.  Lots of people and lots of traffic.  I expected to be adjusting it constantly.  I even expected (like other bands I’ve tried) to fall off.  Neither.  Founder Amy is correct.  There IS a better alternative and she created them.  It never moved.  Not one adjustment and falling off wasn’t even a remote possibility.  It was incredibly comfortable, not too tight, stayed put and did it’s thing.  What I hadn’t thought about was sweat.  It didn’t occur to me that it would stop all the sweat from dripping down my face and into my eyes.  So not only did my Bolder Band hold up to the rigors, it did MORE than I had anticipated.

Bolder, Tavin and me

The next day I went for a 5.5 mile run.  Nope, I did not wash my Bolder Band.  Gross?  Perhaps, but I thought maybe it would be stretched out from the previous day.  I did my miles nice and slow and consistent at a 9 minute mile pace.  Again, I pretty much just forgot it was there because the Bolder Band didn’t move.  Love it!!  My only complaint??  I don’t have more.

The floor is yours……

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

