Water Consumption


Guidelines for water consumption are all over the board.  Eight 8 ounce glasses a day……  1 ml (about 1/5 of a teaspoon) of water for each calorie he or she consumes. The average diet at the time was approximately 1900 calories, meaning you needed about 64 ounces of water per day……  Drink more if urine isn’t clear…….  Women should drink 91 ounces and men 125……

water glass

I have a great friend that texts me the same picture every time I complain about anything.  Headache?  Tired?  Feeling slow?  Feeling fast?  Gained weight?  Hot?  Cold?  Doesn’t matter what I say I’m feeling – even just bummed out about something or happy in general.  Same text:

Yes, yes..... I know....

Yes, yes….. I know….

When I was pregnant, breastfeeding and when I’ve been involved in athletic sports, I’ve always tried to maintain a gallon a day.  This seems daunting no matter how I calculate it.  If a gallon of water is 128 ounces and I use a 16 ounce water bottle, I’d have to drink 8 of them.  I’d like to tell you how organized I am, but I lose count every time.

images1

So I started using a gallon jug.  That worked perfectly except it’s tough to drink while driving and not easy to haul around at 8.34 pounds.  And it looks like so much sitting there all at once that it was overwhelming.  I found an answer.  First of all, I’m not super strict about exactly a gallon.  If I work out hard, I drink a separate water bottle so it increases the overall amount I consume.  Second, the easier I make things, the more likely I am to stick to them.  KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) works for me.

Perfect size

Perfect size

My son, Taylor always asks for lemonade in these containers.  I finally broke down and bought them since they aren’t expensive.  The lemonade is pretty good actually and I rinse and reuse the containers.  At 50 ounces, I drink two a day.  They’re easy to carry around and not heavy.  It doesn’t feel daunting to drink it all and I can easily count to two.  Usually.  That gives me 100 ounces which is almost 80% of a gallon plus additional  water if I work out.

ME!!!

ME!!!

My goal was to age gracefully.  I’m not entirely certain if I have, but if asked what I’ve done to help achieve this?  I’d say quality skin care products and liberal amounts of lotion and not just on my face.  Everywhere.  Exercise, plenty of time outside and water.

This is an amazing article about a woman’s documentation of her first month drinking water.

Before and after on her one month journey

Before and after on her one month journey

 

Leave a Reply

